2018 Moran Contemporary Photographic Prize Finalists Revealed

Tamara Dean


The finalists of the 2018 Moran Contemporary Photographic Prize have been revealed by the Moran Arts Foundation. The Moran Contemporary Photographic Prize (MCPP) is one of Australia’s most prestigious photography competitions and 30 photographs from 24 photographers are competing for a $50,000 first prize, the winner of which will be announced on Tuesday 8 May at Juniper Hall in Paddington.

Over 2600 entries were submitted for this year’s prize, and 148 photographs from 116 photographers were selected as semi-finalists. Amongst this year’s 24 finalists are four former MCPP winners.

The judges of the 2018 MCPP, Cheryl Newman, Jon Jones and Raphaela Rosella, will reconvene later this month to select the winner of the Prize. Jon Jones said “the final 30 represent a wonderful cross section of contemporary Australia, with some beautiful, some dynamic, and some challenging images and themes.”

The Moran Contemporary Photographic Prize (MCPP) was established in 2007 by the Moran Arts Foundation and it awards and promotes Australian contemporary photography and excellence in all forms of still, photo based artwork – including analogue and digital photography or staged and directorial photo-media work. The Moran Contemporary Photographic Prize has prize money of $100,000, including the $50,000 first prize. Photographers were invited to interpret “contemporary life in Australia” and the finalist selection features a diverse range of subjects, from locations across the country.

On Tuesday 8 May, the Moran Arts Foundation will also announce the winners of the 3 Student Photographic Prizes. This year’s Student Prize judges are Louise Whelan, Nicki Jackson and Peter Edward.

The winner of the Moran Contemporary Photographic Prize will be announced on Tuesday 8 May at Juniper Hall in Paddington. The Moran Contemporary Photographic Exhibition opens on 5 May and runs until 27 May.



For further information about the Moran Contemporary Photographic Prize please contact TM Publicity:

Jillian Heggie – jillian@tmpublicity.com / 02 8333 9070


Moran Contemporary Photographic Prize

Winner – $50,000

Finalists – $1,000

Moran Contemporary Photographic Prizes – Students

$5,000 each for the Winner and their School (Years 11-12)

$3,000 each for the Winner and their School (Years 9-10)

$2,000 each for the Winner and their School (Years 7-8)

A camera for each Primary School Student Finalist


Abbott, Matthew Wrestlers Cooling Off NSW Redfern
Abbott, Matthew A New Beginning NSW Redfern
Abboud, Marian Looking for Basloukit in Bathurst – When My Sisters Came to Visit NSW Granville
Bugg, James Zach VIC Brunswick East
Bugg, James Billy and Cooper VIC Brunswick East
Colaidis, Maria Untitled, 2017 VIC Reservoir
Cripps, Jo Rob and Nikita VIC Drouin
Dean, Tamara The Quarry NSW Cambewarra
Dupont, Stephen Fleur NSW Scarborough
Ferguson, Adam Governess, New Years Day Party, Tibooburra, NSW NSW Newport
Ferguson, Adam ‘Shelita Buffett’, Drag Queen, Broken Hill, New South Wales NSW Newport
Ferguson, Adam Bushfire, Carwoola, New South Wales NSW Newport
Frank, Jon Port Pirie, SA; 2017 NSW Kangaroo Valley
Garbutt, Michael Red-Belly Black Snake NSW Oyster Bay
Grono, Natalie The Burning NSW Lennox Head
Harris, Sam The Last Dance WA Balingup
Harris, Sam Sisters WA Balingup
Harsent, Simon Black Star NSW Marrickville
Hillier, Tim Doomadgee Lawnmower VIC Footscray
Koenning, Katrin Sasha with Balloons VIC Melbourne
Malone, Sarah Pregnant Woman and Man on Beach NSW Sydney
Mitchell, Trent The Front #3 QLD Gold Coast
Moore, Isabella Junior Mullet Festival Contestant NSW Marrickville
Moore, Isabella The Significance of Ceremony NSW Marrickville
Muller, Justine Sister Reena Staker NSW Potts Point
O’Halloran, Tajette Untitled VIC Reservoir
Sewell, Dean Douglas Park NSW Sydney
Titz, Tobias Edie Ulrich Comments on the 1967 Referendum VIC Brunswick
Wallwork, Jacob Nullarbor Roadhouse VIC Melbourne
Ward, April Upside Down in the Floods WA Perth