Finalists – 2022 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize


Moran Arts Foundation has announced the 30 finalists in the 2022 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize (DMNPP), Australia’s richest portrait prize.  Artists from around the country are represented in the prestigious group and they have portrayed musicians, performers, scientists and artists among others in their works.

The finalists are in the running for a $150,000 first prize to be announced on November 30.

The 2022 Prize is judged by Gerard Vaughan AM, Australian art historian and museum administrator, Lucy Culliton, one of Australia’s foremost contemporary artists and Peter Moran, Moran Arts Foundation.  Peter’s parents Doug and Greta Moran AO established the Moran Arts Foundation in 1988 to fulfill their dream of helping Australian artists along the path to excellence.

Judge Gerard Vaughan AM commented

“The finalists in the 2022 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize represent a deeply interesting cross-section of Australian artistic talent, and each is to be warmly congratulated. Needless to say, judging so many entries of high quality, equally fascinating for the subjects each artist has chosen to portray, has been challenging, and delivering this final shortlist has necessitated leaving out many, many works which the judges admired.

What is presented here, for all viewers to contemplate and respond to, demonstrates the many facets of contemporary portraiture in Australia, a genre which remains as popular and talked about as ever. The artists’ different approaches to offering us insights into their subjects demand attention. This encompasses many different styles of painting, some of which might collectively be described as realist – often with careful drawing and miraculously precise painting techniques, several consciously looking back at the art of the past, reprising recognisable art works in a consciously contemporary way – while others are powerfully expressive, painterly and even abstracting, where the fluidity of the paint itself tells its own story.”

Each artist has successfully offered the viewer an insight into the personality and life experience of the sitter, and how they themselves see the sitter, referring to themes such as health and healthcare, particularly in a moment of pandemic, ageing, sometimes grief , but also the power of resilience, and happiness and the joy of life – how Australians choose to live.

What is particularly impressive is the number of artists’ self portraits, or their portraits of artist friends, or artists working in their studios – a sure signal of their commitment to their own practice, and how they want to communicate it to others.”

The 30 finalists will appear in an online exhibition from 30 November.

The Doug Moran National Portrait Prize judges original artworks from Australian artists, capturing Australians from all walks of life, whether a public figure or someone from the artist’s circle of experience. Works are painted at least partly from life with the sitter known to the artist and aware of the artist’s intention to enter the Prize.


The winner will be announced: 30 Nov 2022


The winner of the 2022 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize will receive $150,000


List of 2022 Finalists

Name Entry State Sitter’s Name/s
Tony Albert & Vincent Namatjira Blackfella bananas NSW Tony Albert & Vincent Namatjira
Michael Bell Starting a portrait of Mark Mordue. NSW Mark Mordue
Owen John Biljabu Corban Clause Williams WA Corban Clause Williams
Daniel Butterworth My own worst enemy VIC Daniel Butterworth
Rachel Coad The imaginative historian, self portrait. WA Rachel Coad
Jackson Davies Kings Cross studio 2022 NSW Chris Field
Graeme Drendel Portrait of Lewis Miller VIC Lewis Miller
David Fenoglio Self portait wearing hat QLD David Fenoglio
Vivien Gaston Maudie: Portrait of Maudie Palmer VIC Maudie Palmer AO
Jaq Grantford Bald VIC Jaq Grantford
Steve Lopes Warren Ellis, portrait study NSW Warren Ellis
Susan Ma Determination NSW Ron Ramsey
Kathleen Mason The war widow NSW Katie Norton
Terry Matassoni Portrait of Jan Senbergs VIC Jan Senbergs
Sarah McBride Shiny WA Simon Page aka Shiny
Joshua Miels Downhearted SA Alex Howard
Neil Miley Concept, action, critique Evert Ploeg NSW Evert Ploeg
Lewis Miller Graeme Drendel VIC Graeme Drendel
Kirsty Neilson A decade in Afghanistan NSW Andrew Quilty
Liam Nunan Self portrait NSW Liam Nunan
Lucy O’Doherty Self portrait in pink room NSW Lucy O’Doherty
Tim O’Shea John Brewster – The Angels SA John Brewster
Amanda Penrose Hart Reg NSW Reg Mombassa
Simon Schneider Obsession VIC Mervyn Schneider
Dee Smart Navigating a new world NSW Kim Leutwyler
Liz Sullivan Sweetness and sardines VIC Annie O’Shannessy
Datsun Tran Scars of an artist SA Datsun Tran
Naomi White Keeping us healthy through science QLD Professor Ian Frazer AC
Madeleine Winch Soliloquy NSW Madeleine Winch (self portrait)
Debra Winn David VIC David McAllister AC
View a preview of the 30 Finalists’ Artworks Here


Read more about the Prize here